Hearings on Competition and Consumer Protection in the 21st Century



An FTC Event | Constitution Center | September 21, 2018

SPEAKER BIOS

Panel 1: The State of U.S. Antitrust Law (Session 1)

Alden F. Abbott is the General Counsel of the FTC. He has also worked in other capacities at the FTC, Department of Commerce, and Department of Justice. From 1991 to 2018, he was an Adjunct Professor at Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University.

Dennis W. Carlton is the David McDaniel Keller Professor of Economics at the Booth School of Business at the University of Chicago and Senior Managing Director of Compass Lexecon. Carlton recently served as the Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Antitrust Division of the DOJ. He also served on the Antitrust Modernization Commission.

Eric Citron is a partner at Goldstein & Russell, P.C. Previously, Citron clerked on the U.S. Supreme Court for Associate Justices Sandra Day O'Connor and Elena Kagan. He has also served as counsel to the Assistant Attorney General in the Antitrust Division of the DOJ.

Eleanor M. Fox is the Walter J. Derenberg Professor of Trade Regulation at New York University School of Law. She has served as a member of the International Competition Policy Advisory Committee to the U.S. Attorney General from 1997-2000 and as a commissioner on the National Commission for the Review of Antitrust Laws and Procedures from 1978-1979.

Keith N. Hylton is the William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor of Boston University and Professor of Law at Boston University School of Law. Hylton is the immediate past president of the American Law & Economics Association.

Joseph E. Stiglitz is University Professor at Columbia University and Chief Economist at the Roosevelt Institute. He is a Nobel laureate in economics and a recipient of the John Bates Clark Medal. He is also a former senior vice president and chief economist of the World Bank and a former chairman of the President's Council of Economic Advisors.

Panel 2: The State of U.S. Antitrust Law (Session 2)

Alden F. Abbott is the General Counsel of the FTC. He has also worked in other capacities at the FTC, Department of Commerce, and Department of Justice. From 1991 to 2018, he was an Adjunct Professor at Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University.

Debbie Feinstein is a partner and head of the Global Antitrust group at Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP. She previously served at the FTC as Director of the Bureau of Competition, Assistant to the Director, and Attorney Advisor.

ftc.gov/ftc-hearings | #ftchearings

Michael Kades is the Director for Markets and Competition Policy at the Washington Center for Equitable Growth. Prior to joining Equitable Growth, Michael worked as antitrust counsel for Sen. Amy Klobuchar. Previously, he was an attorney at the FTC, including as Attorney Advisor to Chairman Jon Leibowitz.

William E. Kovacic is currently a Professor at George Washington University Law School, where he is also Director of the Competition Law Center. He is a Non-executive Director of the UK's Competition and Markets Authority. Before joining the GW Law School in 1999, he was an FTC Commissioner from 2006 to 2011 and served as Chairman from 2008 until 2009. Previously, Kovacic was the FTC's General Counsel from 2001 through 2004.

Diana L. Moss is President of the American Antitrust Institute and Adjunct Faculty in the Department of Economics at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Before joining AAI in 2001, Moss was at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, where she coordinated the agency's competition analysis for electricity mergers.

Robert D. Willig is Professor of Economics and Public Affairs Emeritus at the Woodrow Wilson School and the Economics Department of Princeton University and a Senior Consultant at Compass Lexecon. From 1989 to 1991, Willig served as Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economics in the Antitrust Division of the DOJ.

Panel 3: Monopsony & Buyer Power

William F. Adkinson, Jr. is an Attorney Advisor in the FTC's Office of Policy Planning, having served previously in the Office of General Counsel. Prior to joining the Commission in 2007, Bill served on the staff of the Antitrust Modernization Commission, worked as Senior Policy Counsel at the Progress and Freedom Foundation, and practiced law in the antitrust group at Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering.

Peter C. Carstensen is a Professor of Law Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin Law School. From 1993 to 2002 he served as Associate Dean for Faculty Research and Development. From 1968 to 1973, he was an attorney at the Antitrust Division of the DOJ.

C. Scott Hemphill is a Professor at New York University School of Law. Hemphill has also served as antitrust bureau chief for the New York Attorney General and clerked for Judge Richard Posner of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and Justice Antonin Scalia of the Supreme Court.

Mary T. Coleman is an Executive Vice President at Compass Lexecon. From 2001 until 2004, Coleman was the Deputy Director for Antitrust in the FTC's Bureau of Economics. She has also served as a staff economist at the FTC.

Joseph M. Miller is a partner in Crowell & Moring LLP's Washington, D.C. office. Miller is an attorney with experience in both the FTC's Bureau of Competition and DOJ's Antitrust Division. Before joining Crowell in 2015, he was the general counsel of America's Health Insurance Plans.

Sandeep Vaheesan is policy counsel at the Open Markets Institute. Vaheesan previously served as a regulations counsel at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, where he helped develop and draft the first comprehensive federal rule on payday, vehicle title, and high-cost installment loans.