

Competition & Consumer Protection Issues in Solar Energy

Federal Trade Commission Workshop, June 21, 2016

8:40 am

Welcome

Marina Lao

Director, Office of Policy Planning, FTC

Opening Remarks

The Honorable Edith Ramirez

Chairwoman, FTC

9:00 am

Framing Presentation

Severin Borenstein

E.T. Grether Professor of Business Administration and Public Policy, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

9:30 am

Panel 1: Laying the Groundwork: The Past, Present, and Future of Solar Power

Panelists:

Vikram Aggarwal

Founder & CEO, EnergySage

James Critchfield

Director, Green Power Partnership, US Environmental Protection Agency

Tanuj Deora

Chief Strategy Officer & Executive Vice President, Smart Electric Power Alliance

Allen Mosher

Vice President of Policy Analysis, American Public Power Association

Elaine Ulrich

Program Manager, SunShot Balance of Systems/Soft Costs Team, US Department of Energy

Moderators:

Ellen Connelly

Attorney Advisor, Office of Policy Planning, FTC

Mark S. Hegedus

Attorney, Office of the General Counsel, FTC

11:00 am

Break

11:15 am Panel 2: Net Metering: Pricing Solar DG at Retail

Panelists:

Severin Borenstein

E.T. Grether Professor of Business Administration and Public Policy, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

Philip D. Moeller

Senior Vice President of Energy Delivery & Chief Customer Solutions Officer, Edison Electric Institute

Karl R. Rábago

Executive Director, Pace Energy and Climate Center, Elisabeth Haub School of Law, Pace University

Jon Wellinghoff

Chief Policy Officer, SolarCity

Tim Woolf

Vice President, Synapse Energy Economics

Moderators:

John C. Hilke

Economic Consultant to the FTC

Derek W. Moore

Attorney Advisor, Office of Policy Planning, FTC

12:45 pm State Regulators Keynote

The Honorable Ellen Nowak

Chairperson, Wisconsin Public Service Commission

The Honorable Ann Rendahl

Commissioner, Washington State Utilities and Transportation Commission

Moderator:

John H. Seesel

Associate General Counsel for Energy, Office of the General Counsel, FTC

1:15 pm Lunch (On Your Own)

2:15 pm Panel 3: Competitive Issues in a Changing Industry

Panelists:

Diana L. Moss

President, American Antitrust Institute

Ari Peskoe

Senior Fellow in Electricity Law, Environmental Policy Initiative, Harvard Law School

Nancy E. Pfund

Founder & Managing Partner, DBL Partners

Richard Schmalensee

Howard W. Johnson Professor of Economics and Management, Emeritus,

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Michael Wara

Associate Professor of Law and Justin M. Roach, Jr. Faculty Scholar, Stanford Law School

Moderators:

Jade Alice Eaton

Attorney, Antitrust Division, US Department of Justice

James F. Mongoven

Assistant Director, Office of Policy and Coordination, Bureau of Competition, FTC

3:45 pm Break

4:00 pm

Panel 4: Shining the Light on Consumer Protection Issues and Rooftop Solar

Panelists:

Shannon Baker-Branstetter

Policy Counsel, Energy and Environment, Consumers Union

Shennan Kavanagh

Deputy Chief, Consumer Protection Division, Office of the Attorney General of Massachusetts

Thomas P. Kimbis

Interim President, Solar Energy Industries Association

Robert M. Margolis

Senior Analyst & Group Manager, Strategic Energy Analysis Center, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, US Department of Energy

Richard Sedano

Principal & US Programs Director, Regulatory Assistance Project

Moderators:

Jonathan Hill

Attorney, Office of the General Counsel, FTC

Hampton Newsome

Attorney, Bureau of Consumer Protection, FTC

5:30 pm

Closing

Patricia Schultheiss

Attorney Advisor, Office of Policy Planning, FTC